Tuesday, December 27, 2011

1206549942.txt

From: David Parker <david.parker@metoffice.gov.uk>
To: "Mann, Michael" <mann@virginia.edu>
Subject: Heads up
Date: Wed, 26 Mar 2008 12:45:42 +0000
Cc: "Folland, Chris" <chris.folland@metoffice.gov.uk>, "Kennedy, John" <john.kennedy@metoffice.gov.uk>, "Jones, Phil" <p.jones@uea.ac.uk>, "Karl, Tom" <Thomas.R.Karl@noaa.gov>

Mike

Yes it was based on only Jan+Feb 2008 and padding with that final value
but John Kennedy has changed / shortly will change this misleading plot!

Regards

David


-----Original Message-----
From: Michael Mann [mailto:mann@meteo.psu.edu]
Sent: 26 March 2008 11:19
To: Folland, Chris
Cc: Phil Jones; Thomas R Karl
Subject: heads up

Hi Chris (and Tom and Phil),

I hope you're all doing well. Just wanted to give you a heads up on
something. Have you seen this?
http://hadobs.metoffice.com/hadcrut3/diagnostics/global/nh+sh/annual_s21
.png

apparently the contrarians are having a field day w/ this graph. My
understanding that it is based on using only Jan+Feb 08 and padding w/
that final value.

Surely this can't be?? Is Fred Singer now running the UK Met Office
website?

Would appreciate any info you can provide,

mike

--
Michael E. Mann
Associate Professor
Director, Earth System Science Center (ESSC)

Department of Meteorology Phone: (814) 863-4075
503 Walker Building FAX: (814) 865-3663
The Pennsylvania State University email: mann@psu.edu


--
David Parker Met Office Hadley Centre FitzRoy Road EXETER EX1 3PB UK
E-mail: david.parker@metoffice.gov.uk
Tel: +44-1392-886649 Fax: +44-1392-885681 http:www.metoffice.gov.uk

No comments:

Post a Comment